Wednesday Glowing Artsy Recommendation: East of Eden

This week I’m reviewing a book! Because I’m in love with it and it’s my whole heart and soul and it’s everything I’ve ever wanted in my life. I daresay it’s even my favorite book of all time. Yeah, I went that far. So with no further ado, here be my Wednesday Glowing Artsy Recommendation of the week!


 

East of Eden by John Steinbeck

eastofeden

Rating: 5/5 would recommend/marry/weep over/etc.

Summary: This is going to be short and not-so-sweet, considering that this book is kind of dark for the most part and I don’t want to give too much away.

East of Eden is arguably Steinbeck’s best piece of writing (Yeah, Grapes of Wrath, I went there). It mirrors the story of Cain and Abel following two generations of the same family. First are Charles and Adam, two brothers with a little bit of tension, to say the least (let’s just say murder may cross one’s mind). Then come Adam’s children, Cal and Aron, who continue to carry on the legacy of brotherly tension.

The basis for the majority of this novel is the battle between good and evil, which is depicted in several different forms (people, mountains, stories, etc.) throughout the story. If you’re a fan of biblical allusions (this is for you, high school English teachers), then this is the book for you! If you are unfamiliar with the story of Cain and Abel, I would recommend a quick reading, because without the prior knowledge, half of the story’s genius will be lost on you. And that would be truly tragic. Don’t let it happen to you.

Steinbeck is like a little evil literary scientist, pulling all the stops in order to make this the greatest book ever written. He’s got scandal, he’s got compassion, he’s got some hardcore life lessons, he’s got murder (NO! Oh, but yes), he’s got the whole shabang! So clip on your reading glasses, grab yourself a glass of wine, and take a little cruise through my buddy John’s brain. It’s beautiful, I promise.

*Disclaimer: If you are not a fan of Steinbeck, do not fret. This novel is far different and far better than any of his others. I promise you’ll like it.*

Please give this book a read. Don’t be intimidated by the size, I promise it’s all worth it. Every single last word is worth all of the feelings that will be left in your brain. You won’t even know what to do. You’ll cry just because it’s over.


Thank you all for reading this week! Come back with this book in yer brain, or DON’T COME BACK.

(Joking, come back regardless.)

I love all o’ y’all nerdbugs.

-Aub

One thought on “Wednesday Glowing Artsy Recommendation: East of Eden

Leave a Reply

