What Happens When You Screw Up High School

I’ll run the risk of sounding like a forty year old motivational speaker filled with regret in this post of mine. Although I am not forty, nor am I necessarily filled with regret. Nevertheless, here goes.


I screwed up high school! I didn’t care. I don’t think my teachers disliked me, but they were certainly frustrated with me. They knew I could do better than I was doing.

My math teachers may have hated me (with the exception of my senior year math teacher, who was wonderful in every way) considering that math was never my forte. It’s not even that I wasn’t good at math, I just hated it with a burning passion that I could feel deep in my soul. Math turned me dark. It wasn’t good for me.


1491551_10202245651094579_1150468424_o (1).jpg

This picture sums up my feelings on schoolwork perfectly. I believe this was in preparation for a certain Algebra final.


English was my safe place. The only class I ever really struggled with, purely because I didn’t understand, was our Grammar class. And even then, the only thing I struggled with were those damn sentence diagrams. Why bring a diagram into English class? Why? Way to ruin everything every English nerd has ever loved about an English class. In case you had a pure childhood and don’t know what I’m talking about, here is an example of one.


diagram

Does that make sense to you? I didn’t think so. Unless you’re one of my English teachers from high school. Stop rubbing it in, you guys.


Although I do still hate sentence diagramming with a passion rivaled only by my hatred of Physics, that is not the point of this post.

The point of this post, as earlier stated, is that I ruined high school. And to a degree I regret it. I’m not stupid, I knew what I was doing when I was doing it. I knew it would be hard to get any sort of scholarship for college, I knew it would be hard to go away if that’s what I wanted to do (at that time, it was), and I knew that I would have to sit through graduation and watch while the same twenty people got called up for awards because they kicked high school’s ass (they deserved every single last award).

So even though I knew all of this in my brain, it didn’t change what I was doing. I left my homework at home while I went out with my friends, knowing full well that I’d be stressed out all of the next day because I hadn’t done what I was supposed to do. I’d shirk major projects that I knew were important, and then I’d be stressed out all day when they were due. Are you seeing a trend here? I caused myself more worry than it was worth! It would’ve made my life a billion times easier if I’d just done everything I was supposed to do. But alas, hindsight is 20/20.

But here’s why I am not filled with regret: I very much enjoyed high school. I enjoyed all the time I spent with my friends, I enjoyed tennis and theatre, I even enjoyed some of my class work. And I learned a lot of stuff. A lot of stuff about the consequences of not doing what you’re supposed to do. 

What were the consequences of not doing what you’re supposed to do in high school? Well.

  1. You don’t get scholarships. And that sucks. Out of pocket, friends. Or loans. Neither is fun.
  2. Your teachers might like you, but they won’t hesitate to make a point of letting you know they are unamused with your lack of work ethic. If I had a quarter for the number of times I heard “Wow, you actually did this assignment,” then I wouldn’t have needed any scholarships for college. 

Moral of the story? Some would say the message of this is “don’t do your work and all will be well anyway” but that’s not what I mean. I think schoolwork is important and necessary. But I do think that a couple bad assignments/years aren’t going to be the end all for everyone. You can get past it, it’s just going to be a little harder to get the things you want. 

Here are a couple of tips from me to a current high school student:

  • Your mental health should take priority over everything else. 
  • Do what you want, but think about how that’s going to impact you later on.
  • Be nice to your teachers. 
  • Be nice to your classmates, you never know when you’ll need their help.
  • Don’t freak out because you missed an assignment here or there. 

Having said all of that and enjoying my time in highschool, I’m thankful I’m done! Make it to graduation. You got it. 

Thanks for reading this week! I know you guys are on break and don’t want to read about school, but I want you to CONTEMPLATE this. Think about it for like a minute and then you may be on your way and enjoy the rest of your break.

M’kay? M’kay.

See y’all on Wednesday for my recommendation! 

-Aub

2 thoughts on “What Happens When You Screw Up High School

Leave a Reply

