Friendly Friday: Caleb McKenzie

Happy Friday, friends! I’ve decided that at some point you all will probably get sick of hearing my brain thoughts, if you haven’t already. So I’ve come up with a fun thing we can do called ‘Friendly Friday’ where I ask some of my brilliant, wondrous friends to blog for me. I love that we all think in different ways and I think it’s important to showcase uniqueness of thought. So my good friends get to pick whatever they want to write about, totally uncensored by myself. This will be fun.

Without further ado, my first Friendly Friday writer is my good friend Caleb McKenzie.



Caleb McKenzie is nineteen years old, living in Colorado. He is studying Illustration at Rocky Mountain College of Art and Design. He loves making ink drawings, sipping coffee, and sharing new experiences with others.



 

Findings

Being an individual is the only way, I think, to find yourself. Although you may still be in your house with your parents, there’s only so much they can do for you once you reach a certain age. I remember being so influenced by my parents and their opinions. I literally thought and said to people my freshman year that “I’m fine with gay people, I just don’t support them.” Turns out, ya boy here has a boyfriend now. Slowly, as I got to know my new thoughts in my new body, I began to grow as an actual person. It’s important to know what others think, especially parents, but it’s ultimately more important to have your own attitudes and opinions.


Cute

I hate, hate, hate things that keep me up at night. In a bad way, that is. I agree that some humans have the capacity to love horror and demented topics, but I, for one, love light-hearted, adorable things. One thing I actually love doing is crossing cute and creepy. Note that I never said I hate creepy things. Cute things have a smoothness to them, not in texture, but in character. They don’t mean to hurt anything and are a pleasure to look at and, hopefully, greet with. Cute spreads happiness and lets me sleep at night.


creatures


Black

I have successfully eliminated black from my wardrobe. For some reason, it drowns the energy out of me. It has no life to it. Brown fulfills my character 100% more; it has a richer, brighter quality in terms of energy and that reflects itself back onto me. Browns, greens, maroons, and greys have found themselves woven into my life. If you think about it, most of a human is covered by clothing through 95% of his or her life. Clothing should represent individuality and the ‘skin’ of someone. I feel completely me in my clothing, and I want others to, too. Black probably fits way better in other people’s lives, just not mine.


 

Lines

Everything is lines. The statement seems simple enough, but at one point it actually angered me when I was working on one of my pieces. I wanted to form something completely different than anything else I had ever seen, but realized I was working with the same lines as everyone else. I simmered down, and realized it was a stupid thing to become mad about, so I went back to my pen and ink and worked with the best I had. We all eat food, we all drive cars, we all go to sleep. ‘How’ is the word I wrestled with. How a person bends a line is where uniqueness occurs. Yes we all may be given the same sheet of paper, but it’s impossible for every piece, in the end, to be the same finished product. Things enable us to do, but how we do them is the real, honest answer.



Ah! Inspiring! Eloquent! What more could you ask for? Thanks to Caleb for the post! I love it. We’re all working with the same lines, friends. Bend them as you will. Let us know what you think. Like it? Hate it? We’d love a peek into your brains! So you’ll have Fridays to look forward to from now on, a day when you can listen to someone else’s brain thoughts and expand your minds. What a concept. It’ll be cool. I don’t know that you’re ready for it.

Thanks for reading this week you guys! Have a super duper radical weekend.

-Aub

 

 

2 thoughts on “Friendly Friday: Caleb McKenzie

  1. Aubrey,
    This blog is awesome. ..a reflection on you. Keep doing what you’re doing. I can’t wait to see where life takes you.

    Caleb,
    Great post. We too have changed through these past years. You are fearfully and wonderfully made. God created you…and loved it. Our lives are richer now because we know you more fully now. I love that…and love you.

    To you both,
    You are young. DO stuff. Now is the time to explore, when you are unencumbered and free. Make your mark. Make this world beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your words mean so much to us! Thank you for reading this and giving input and feedback and being so kind. I showed Caleb your comment. It’s so important to have people in your life who are supportive and kind and I’m glad Caleb was born to you guys, because you’re among the best. Thank you a million times over!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

