On Saying What You Feel

Happy Monday, everyone! So this week I’ve been doing a lot of deep thinking and I’ve been thinking about how far I’ve come in terms of saying out loud what I’m feeling. A year ago I would’ve kept things to myself, whether it be the way I was feeling, what I was thinking, whatever. If I felt like anyone else would disagree, I’d keep my mouth shut. So here I’m going to talk about the way I think I’ve changed and what I think being more vocal has done for me!

Read on, friends.


So last Saturday I was going through the Dunkin Donuts drive-thru, getting some coffee to prepare for my morning speech class.

I order my coffee, pull up, and a middle-aged man greets me. I politely say “Good morning” back and hand him my card.

(My friends are probs sick of hearing this story. Tough shit.)

Middle-aged man hands me coffee, my card, says, “There ya go, sweetheart” and then winks at me.

Now, usually, I would let this go. Single, middle-aged guys will sometimes be creepy. But at this moment it pissed me off more than anything. And this may not seem like a big deal to a lot of people, but it’s a teensy bit degrading and a little weird. He would never say that to a guy. So why say it to me. And the wink was unnecessary. Totally.

So I looked at him for a couple seconds, put my coffee in the cup holder and said “Thanks sweetheart.” If I could’ve taken a picture of this guy’s fuming face, I would’ve. I told him to have a nice day and went to class.

So I thought about this as I was sitting in speech class. As passive aggressive as it may have been, I think I got my point across. This is just one example of how I’ve put my thoughts and feelings out there, but I’ve noticed that I tell my friends what I think more honestly and more often.

But I also think it’s important not to start arguments just because you can. There’s a right way to voice your opinion and most of the time, it can be done without creating conflict. I think voicing my opinions like this has done a lot for me, and I’ll list my observations down below (unless you guys can’t tell by now, I’m an obsessive list-maker. They make me feel better. Healthy? Who’s to say. Effective? Definitely).

What Voicing My Opinions Has Done For Me

1. I’m more confident! It makes you feel good when you say what you feel and people get what you’re saying. And even if they don’t, you know that you made your best effort to get the point across, and you likely contributed something valuable to the conversation!

2.I know myself better. Saying out loud what you think solidifies your ideas in your head. It also helps you organize your thoughts in a way that makes it easier to understand what you’re feeling.

3. I have more interesting conversations. It’s cool to say what you think and have other people bounce ideas back around. You broaden your brain-thoughts and you get to know other people on a deeper level! It’s pretty neat.


I’m sure there are many more things I’ve learned learned about myself, but it’s 10:30 on a Monday night, so this is as good as it’s going to get, friends.

Thanks for reading this week! I’ve got a good Wednesday and a super awesome Friday post planned for later this week! Can’t wait. It’s going to be good, so keep your eyeballs peeled.

G’night frans..

-Aub

Leave a Reply

