I’m At A Standstill!

Happiest of Mondays to you all, my friends. I hope we’re all getting geared up for great weeks. The weather has been great, sunny, makes life a little more enjoyable. Hopefully none of you have gotten so burnt you can’t sleep yet (been there). Sunscreen is an important tool. Also, ticks are gross, so bug-repellent is also an important tool. I’ve heard Lyme Disease isn’t too much fun.

ANYWHO.

Let’s get into it.


Lately I’ve been letting myself get a little stressed out. I took a trip to Colorado, which was fantastic (minus a busted tire that took three days to get fixed). Seeing friends that I hadn’t seen in awhile was super incredible and fun and it was cool to enter their reality and see how they live their lives! We all drove back up to Illinois together, which was a very long car ride full of good talks and good music. But the whole time, it made me think about the different stages of life we’re all in.

13308499_10206561115453745_3628662081905876895_o
Some of us are even already grandmas. Crazy.

I have friends that are leaving for college soon, friends that are in college, friends that live on their own. So I think the natural progression of thought for people who are in what I’m going to call “quarter-life limbo” is that they’re losing time. I’m only 20. I shouldn’t feel like time is being lost or like I’m wasting it. But it’s really easy to get caught up in that thought when I see that everyone else is getting the ball rolling. People I went to highschool with are halfway done with college and I’ve just barely started.

I think that I’m feeling this pressure especially now because I’ve just ended my job, which has kept me occupied for the past two years. So trying to find a job, registering for classes, thinking about the bills I have to pay (thank God I don’t live on my own); it’s all built up this stress and pressure that I feel is going to manifest itself soon in some way or another if I don’t buckle down and get my shit done.

I hear a lot of “You need to get out of here” or “Don’t get stuck living in this town forever.” You know, really not enlightening or uplifting phrases that I don’t think people even realize are not enlightening or uplifting. I am not unmotivated because I took my time figuring out what I wanted to do, figuring out how to keep myself out of crippling debt, figuring out how I could proceed in my life while being smart and giving myself the highest threshold for success possible.

And I’m writing this post because I know for a fact that I’m not the only person who feels this way. Just because we aren’t on the exact same page as everyone else doesn’t mean we’re losers, or that we’re wasting time, or that we aren’t working for anything. I know people who didn’t start college until their mid-twenties (or even their mid-thirties) and they made it. They’re doing a great job, they’re happy, they’re surrounded by people they love. So, if you’re feeling like you’re not doing anything or like you’re behind, trying to frantically catch-up, it’s okay. Put it into perspective in whatever way it helps you.

Just because you are not on the same page as everyone else does not mean you will be a failure. Figure your situation out in a way that makes logical sense to you. And you don’t have to justify that to anyone else.


Thanks for reading this week, friends! I’ll try to post something on Wednesday, I’m about done with a really good book. We’ll see!

Take your time living your life in whatever way feels best to you! I’m a firm believer that things work themselves out with a little ambition and a level head.

Have good days/weeks/lives/etc.

-Aub

Leave a Reply

