Emotionally Draining People

Happy Thursday! School has started for most of us, the weather is a little cooler, and I hope we are all having an okay time of getting back into the swing of things.


I’ve started classes as I know most everyone else has. Just recently I got a job at a chocolate store and I’m still at my nannying gig. Both are awesome.

But with all of that, classes and two jobs, comes another thing: stress. It’s impossible to be a functioning, scheduling adult and not feel stress. What makes stress management a whole lot harder are people in our lives (and we all have them) who are emotional leeches. Just the cherry on the sundae, huh?

I’ll come right out and say it: some people are really, truly just energy suckers. All they do is complain. Listening to all of that and being there for them is hard to do, all the while maintaining a healthy emotional state for yourself. Especially for people like myself and so many others, who absorb the emotions of everyone around them.

But for those of us with a conscience (which I think is most of us), it’s hard to deal with that, because we feel that we have an obligation to be that person to lean on. And that’s okay. You can be someone’s person to lean on. But absolutely not if that is taking priority over your own mental health and happiness.

Say it with me: I am not obligated to sacrifice my happiness for someone else’s. 

Other people will find ways to be happy without you. Emotional leeches will find other people to feed on without you. You are not obligated to be someone’s sound board if it is not healthy for you. Learning how and when to take a step back and say “I need a couple days to myself” is so important.

I am an extrovert. I love people. I love building relationships. Personally, I think that’s the purpose of being alive and on this planet.

HOWEVER.

Sometimes I get so burnt out that I need to hole up in my room for a week or two. And there’s nothing wrong with that.

When I feel like people are too much for me, like I can’t handle one more complaint, I hole up and paint, read, draw, write, take pictures, bake. Whatever sort of emotional cleansing that will benefit me, I do it.

13235589_10206552768885086_4910491928348639966_o.jpg
Make a happy space for yourself! My friends in Colorado did a great job creating their own emotionally healing spots. We all felt it, too. 

Take time when these emotional leeches rear their heads to say, “You know what, I don’t have energy for this, I don’t have patience for this, I need to step away to maintain my own sanity.” I promise you that they will find someone else to leech on.

And a note directly to the emotional leeches: We are all energy suckers sometimes. There’s nothing wrong with venting. But please try to realize when you are putting too much another human being. Please put yourself in check. Be an adult and learn how to deal with your issues. Be self-sufficient.


That’s it for today, you guys. Gotta run to work here in a little while! Take time to heal yourself emotionally. Protect your mind and your health. Muy importante.

Thanks for reading today!

Finish off your weeks strong!

-Aub

Leave a Reply

